The Neustadt Paper Prize

The APG awards the Richard E. Neustadt Paper Prize to the best paper in the field of US government and politics presented by a postgraduate student at the annual APG conference. The prize is worth 100 pounds and is open to postgraduate students registered at UK universities and to papers authored singularly and jointly by postgraduates. Papers co-authored with established academic staff are not eligible. Papers authored by postgraduates who have a permanent academic post or are in a tenure-track post are not eligible. The prize is awarded at the annual APG Conference in January.

2016 Neustadt Book Prize 

The 2016 Richard E Neustadt book prize was presented by Baroness Williams of Crosby to Donald Ratcliffe for his monograph entitled The One-Party Presidential Contest: Adams, Jackson, and 1824's Five-Horse Race(University Press of Kansas) . Professor Ratclife, Honorary Research Fellow, RAI, Oxford and Emeritus Professor, Durham, received the award, including a cheque for £400 at the 2016 APG colloquium held at the Eccles Centre, British Library. 


2017 Neustadt Essay Prize

The 2017 Richard E Neusdadt post-graduate essay prize of £100 was awarded to Tom Robinson (St Annes College, Oxford University) at the APG annual conference for his paper entitled 'Cannabis Coalitions: Cooperation Across Institutional Borders'.


 Winner of the APG Richard E Neustadt essay prize 2016 

 The winner of the APG annual Neustady essay prize in 2016 was Louisa Hotson (Corpus Christi College, University of Oxford) whose paper was entitled 'Professional pessimism: the growth and fragmentation of American Political Science in the 1960s.'

 Winner of the APG Richard E Nesutadt book prize 2015

Despite being obliged to choose from among an excellent range of entries, the judges unanimously agreed on When Soldiers Fall: How Americans Have Confronted Combat Losses from World War I to Afghanistan by Professor Steven Casey (LSE).

The £400 prize was presented at the US Embassy, London, to Professor Casey by Baroness Williams of Crosby at the APG 2015 colloquium on November 13.

Link here

 Previous Winners

2014: Rhodri Jeffreys-Jones, The American Left: Its Impact on Politics and Society since 1900 (Edinburgh University Press, 2013). 

2013: Andrew Preston, Sword of the Spirit, Shield of the Faith: Religion in American War and Diplomacy (Anchor Books, 2012). 

2012: Alan Ware (Oxford), Political Conflict in America (Palgrave Macmillan: 2011).

2011: Stephen Tuck, We Ain't What We Ought to Be (Harvard UP, 2010).

2010: Iwan Morgan, Age of Deficits (UP of Kansas, 2009).

2009 joint winner: Robert Singh and Timothy Lynch, After Bush (Cambridge UP, 2008).

2009 joint winner: Stephen Casey, Selling the Korean War (OUP, 2008)

2008: Gareth Davies, See Government Grow: Education Politics from Johnson to Reagan (University Press of Kansas, 2007).

2007: Hugh Brogan, Alexis de Toqueville (Profile Books, 2006).

2006: Nigel Bowles, Nixon's Business (Texas A&M UP, 2005).